Is Blogging the Same as Writing a Journal?

I have always resisted the benefit of journaling because I have been afraid to go into that "perfect person" that is one of my personas. I have believed that journaling had little to offer me. However, I love to blog and learn a lot about myself as I "post" new articles. Is blogging journaling? Well, yes and no (my favorite kind of answer).

However, I started this my main  blog, kathyberman.com, during Thanksgiving, 2004, and I love blogging. For the years that I have been in recovery since 1976, I have studied and researched about all aspects of personal growth. The main aspect about blogging that suits me is that although I have 5 file cabinets full of material, with blogging I only have to write a "post" which is generally 3-10 paragraphs for me.

As all who have blogs that they update regularly know, a blog that has a general direction and particular messages takes a lot of work. I have been astonished to find myself working on my blog 10-12 hour days. Of course, organizing material collected over a 30+ year period takes a lot of time. The rewriting and reorganizing are also time-consuming.

But it truly has been a labor of love.  I am doing what I have wanted to do for years–expressing myself about ways that we can help each other grow emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

I love helping people to learn new ways to express themselves. Blogs can have several authors so you may want to have a family blog or a friends blog. I can help get started and I can help you expand as you learn the basics.

"We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another."

Luciano de Crescenzo

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Blog Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Is Blogging the Same as Writing a Journal?.

Comments are closed.

