The Many Ways to Blog

Blogging is as unique as humans are unique. We each is an individual so the way we write will be unique. One of my favorite bloggers (who I found through his personal Christian blog) is Darren Rowse. I don’t read him often as our paths are going in separate directions but I love that he takes the time to teach us how to be impassioned about blogging.

He has listed 20 types of blogs (I am unable to link to problogging due to B5media problem but his site is www.problogger.net) so that we may experiment with different forms. The types he lists are: (1) instructional, (2) informational, (3) reviews, (4) lists, (5) interviews, (6) case studies, (7) profiles, (8) link posts, "problem" posts, (9) contrasting two options, (10) rant, (11) inspirational, (12) research, (13) collation posts, (14) prediction and review posts, (15) critique posts, (16) debate, (17) hypothetical posts, (18) satirical, (19) memes and projects, and (20) case studies.

While doing the research for the 50+ books I selected for the Changemaker Library, I realized that I love writing about good books. I have been reading for 60 years so I have a long history of what books can influence lives.

The main interest of my life for the last 30 years has been following the God of my understanding. I am a born-again Christian with no formal church ties. I was raised in the Presbyterian Church and thank God and my mother for the opportunity of having sung in the church choir for years. I use those hymns over and over in my meditative walks. I realize my motive for being in the choir was to sit up in the front of the church because I love watching people. I went to a "revival" in another town with some friends and had a spiritual experience. I believe I was 15 or 16 (which would have been 1955-56) and it felt so right for me to be feeling this way. There was a wonderful man, Mr. Parsons, from my home church there and I knew that the strong feelings I was having weren’t from fear. However, for the next 20 years,I followed the way of the world until 1976. As I have written in other posts, in 1976, I had what I later learned was a radical conversion–a moment that changed my life.

I am a person who believes everything is as it should be. This statement helps to remind me of how little control I have over most things that happen. I can choose my response to experiences but I practice letting go of the rest.

So I am taking another direction for this blog. I will be writing about the books I love. I don’t do book reviews as I think they are generally too long. I give the book title, the author, the ISBN number and a link to Amazon to buy it. I do belong to Amazon Associates so I receive a very small sum from Amazon if you buy from the books highlighted on the columns of my blog. However, the direct links to Amazon from my posts aren’t attached to my Amazon associate name.

All the books that I recommend are strictly my choice without influence from anyone else. Along with the essentials listed above for the book, I include a description of the contents of the books and include a selection form the book based on what I believe is the author’s "message" for the book. I will begin these book posts tomorrow, Nov. 20, 2007.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Blog Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Many Ways to Blog.

Comments are closed.

