Why You Should Use WordPress for Your Blog

“Emotional Sobriety: Becoming Friends & Lovers”  (kathyberman.com) is the blog I started in Nov. 2004. After writing daily for 10-12 hours for several years, I came to believe that the blog had too much information. So I began reorganizing my thoughts and ideas into separate, one-main-theme blogs. So was born my blog empire. I imagine I have over 50 blogs now. Many of them I have deserted. Staying focused is critical to developing a blog empire.

WordPress and blogger are quickly picked up by Google. Actually blogger is owned by Google. I’m going to list what I like about each:

1. WordPress.com has great widgets to add to the site. Although you can’t sell anything on wordpress.com nor put any ads on it, it is a great marketing tool for your other interests or blogs because you can link to other blogs or link back to your other blogs. I have set these patterns of linking back up in my wordpress.com sites I am using for Coral Cay Blogs to show how to use wordpress.com.

2. Blogger is also easy to use but there are no categories when I started so information was difficult to catalog. But you can sell your products and/or add AdSense or other ads.

3. WordPress.org has to be done by a professional programmer and I use a great guy to set up and or change my main site at kathyberman.com.  I developed a separate blog in many of the WordPress themes to show a quick overview of the different themes (see Coral Cay Blogs list. The choices of themes, addons, plugins, widgets are endless. The photos at the top of my six blogs I chose from Flickr and they change as you move from page to page.

This level of blogging with having to choose your own web host should only be taken when you are completely comfortable because you don’t have the control. Choosing programmers and domain names and add-on blogs or sub-blogs can be daunting. At least it was for me and took me 3 years of blogging. Also while wordpress.com is free, wordpress.org costs money.because you have to hire your own host and programmers to help you if you can’t code. My original blog I built in blogware but WordPress is vastly superior.

Photo credit.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Wordpress. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

